BRUSSELS, May 20 (KUNA) -- Up to 26 cases of monkeypox have have been confirmed in seven European countries.
These countries with the cases' figures are Belgium (2), France (1), Italy (1), Portugal (14), Spain (7), Sweden and UK (9), the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control said in a press release .
The majority of cases have been in young men and none with recent travel history to areas where the disease is endemic. No deaths have been reported so far it noted.
Meanwhile, the WHO European Region today said to date, at least eight countries in the WHO European Region, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom - have reported cases of monkeypox in recent days.
Monkeypox is a rare viral infection, that can be spread from person to person, and is caused by the monkeypox virus, it noted in a press release. (end) nk.rk