RIYADH, Nov 12 (KUNA) -- The 22nd Gulf Cup of Nations' tournament, or the Arabian Gulf Cup, was due to get underway here on Thursday and would proceed till 26th of the month.
First group: Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Yemen and Bahrain. Second: Kuwait, Iraq, the UAE, Oman.
First and second winners in each group will qualify for the semi-finals, due on November 23rd. The two top winners will play the final. The game for the third and fourth rank will be held on November 25th.
Opening match pitting Qatar against Saudi Arabia is due at 7 p.m. on Thursday, to be followed with an encounter between Bahrain and Yemen, at 9:30 p.m.
On Friday, Oman will play against the UAE and Kuwait will play against Iraq.
The Kuwaiti team had won the cup 10 times, Saudi Arabia and Iraq three times, Qatar and the UAE twice and Oman once.
The First Gulf Cup tournament took place in 1970, and was won by the Kuwaiti team. (end) ha.abd.rk