A+ A-

Malaysia PM names new cabinet

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 2 (KUNA) -- Malaysian Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim has announced his ministerial cabinet that consists of 28 ministers.
Anwar, who made the announcement during a press conference, personally retains the finance portfolio, which he last held in 1997 during the Asian financial crisis.
He added that they were chosen primarily from three main coalitions taking part in the unity government: Pakatan Harapan led by Anwar, National Front led by Ahmad Zahid Hamidi of the United Malays National Organization and the Sarawak Parties Alliance.
Anwar said the new ministers are to be sworn in by King Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin on Saturday.
Anwar was appointed as Malaysia's 10th prime minister last week to lead a unity government after national polls resulted in a hung parliament. (end) aab.mt