A+ A-

EU recognizes Covid certificate of Bahrain

BRUSSELS, June 30 (KUNA) -- The European Commission Thursday adopted a decision that COVID-19 certificates issued by five countries: Bahrain, Ecuador, South Korea, Kosovo and Madagascar are equivalent to the EU Digital COVID Certificate.
As a result, the five of them will be connected to the EU's system. The EU will accept their COVID certificates under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID Certificate, it said in a press release.
EU Commissioner for Justice Didier Reynders said: "With the start of the summer, people start thinking about holiday plans and I'm happy to announce that Bahrain, Ecuador, the Republic of Korea, Kosovo and Madagascar are joining our system, which now has 72 connected countries and territories".
The Commission's decisions will enter into force on 1 July.
The Council of EU Ministers this week extended the EU Digital COVID Certificate system by a year, until 30 June 2023. (end) nk.mt