A+ A-

US, EU committed to reducing dependency on Russian fuel supplies

WASHINGTON, June 22 (KUNA) -- The US-EU Task Force on European Energy Security met virtually on Wednesday convened by the co-chairs Amos Hochstein US Senior Advisor for Energy Security, and Bjorn Seibert - Head of Cabinet of the European Commission President, and under the leadership of Ditte Juul Jorgensen - EC Director General for Energy, and Melanie Nakagawa - Special Assistant to US President and Senior Director for Climate and Energy at the National Security Council. "The discussion focused on reviewing progress since the March 25 Joint Statement by Presidents Biden and Von der Leyen and charting its next steps," according to a White House press release. "The sides denounced Russia's continued energy coercion of European Union Member States and underscored their continued commitment to reduce dependency on Russian fossil fuels by diversifying Europe's energy supply and taking concrete steps to reduce energy demand through energy efficiency, smart technology deployment and greater use of renewable energy," the statement added. (end) asj.gb