A+ A-

EU Agency: 44 cases of Omicron variant reported in 11 EU countries

BRUSSELS, Nov 30 (KUNA) -- As of Tuesday, 44 confirmed cases of Omicron variant of coronavirus have been reported by eleven European Union countries, Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.
The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) in a press release today said a number of probable cases have also been reported from across the region, but these are still under investigation.
The majority of confirmed cases have a history of travel to African countries, with some having taken connecting flights at other destinations between Africa and Europe.
So far, no severe cases or deaths have been reported among these cases.
Cases have been reported in nine countries and territories outside of the EU, Australia, Botswana, Canada, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Israel, Japan, South Africa, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.
ECDC is an EU agency located in Stockholm, Sweden. (end) nk.mb