A+ A-

Iraq election watchdog declares final results

BAGHDAD, Nov 30 (KUNA) -- Iraq's election committee on Tuesday announced the final results of the recent early parliamentary elections after considering and deciding upon vote challenges.
The final outcome was not different from the previously declared results, except for only five seats in Baghdad, Basra, Mosul, Irbil and Kirkuk, the watchdog's committee Jaleel Adnan told a press conference.
Elaborating, he said that cleric Moqtada Sadr's movement was the key winner in Iraq's parliamentary elections last month, winning 73 out of the total 329 seats.
Led by former parliament speaker Mohammad Al-Halbousi, the Progress Party or Taqadom Party came second in the process by garnering 37 seats, while the State of Law Party, led by former prime minister Nouri Al-Maliki, had the third place by 33 seats.
He added that legal challenges lodged following the October 10 vote, in which some political factions had alleged voter fraud, resulted in only five seats being changed. (end) ahh.mt