A+ A-

Briefing of KUNA main news for Friday until 00:00 GMT

KUWAIT -- Kuwait's Ministry of Health said that 21 people tested positive for the novel coronavirus in 24 hours, taking the total to 413,245.

KUWAIT -- The United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Jordan, Egypt, Morocco and Turkey decided to bar arrivals from Southern African countries as a precaution against the new variant of coronavirus (Covid-19), B.1.1.529 or Omicron.

RIYADH -- Saudi Ministry of Interior announced a temporary suspension of flights to and from seven African countries, namely South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho and Eswatini.

MADRID -- The 143rd Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) conference began Friday in Madrid with the participation of Kuwait's parliamentary delegation headed by National Assembly Speaker Marzouq Al-Ghanim.

BRUSSELS -- Belgian Prime Minister Alexander de Croo announced new stricter measures to counter soaring number of coronavirus infections in Belgium, while Health Minister Frank Vandenbroucke confirmed the first case of a new Covid-19 variant.

BRUSSELS -- European Union member states agreed to introduce rapidly restrictions on all travel into the EU seven countries in the Southern Africa region.

WASHINGTON -- The United States of America along with several nations expressed serious concern at reports of human rights' abuses in Myanmar. (end) mb