A+ A-

Kuwait Amir assigned to form 37th cabinet

KUWAIT, Dec 7 (KUNA) -- His Highness the Amir Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah assigned Tuesday His Highness Sheikh Sabah Khaled Al-Hamad Al-Sabah to form a government, the first under His Highness the Amir and the 37th in Kuwait's history.
This will be His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Khaled's second cabinet following the one he formed on December 17, 2019 until he tendered the cabinet resignation on December 6 a day after parliamentary elections.
There were seven officials, except His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Khaled, who were Prime Ministers since 1962.
Article 56 of the constitution states that His Highness the Amir shall, after the traditional consultations, appoint the Prime Minister or relieve him of office. The Amir shall also appoint ministers and relieve them of office upon the recommendation of the Prime Ministers.
It says ministers shall be appointed from amongst the National Assembly members and from others, and that number of ministers in all shall not exceed one-third of the MPs.
Late Amir Sheikh Abdullah Al-Salem Al-Sabah headed the first government in January 1962, while late Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Salem Al-Sabah chaired by the 2nd, 3rd and 4th cabinets between January 1963 and November 1965, when he was Crown Prince and Prime Minister.
Late Amir Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah chaired 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th governments between December 1965 and December 1977 before becoming the 13th Amir of the State.
Late Father Amir Sheikh Saad Al-Abdullah Al-Sabah chaired the 10th government in February 1978 until the 20th cabinet, which was formed in February 2001.
Late Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah chaired the 21st government in 2003 until the passing away of Sheikh Jaber Al-Ahmad in 2006.
His Highness Sheikh Nasser Mohammad Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah chaired the 22-28 governments between February 2006 until December 2011.
His Highness Sheikh Jaber Mubarak Al-Hamad Al-Sabah succeeded His Highness Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad and took over the 29-35 governments between December 2011 until November 2019. (end) abd.bs