A+ A-

Kuwait asks coronavirus-free documents from passengers of 10 countries

KUWAIT, March 3 (KUNA) -- Kuwait's civil aviation authority decided Tuesday that passengers from 10 countries must produce certificates issued by the Kuwaiti embassy in their own countries showing that they are coronavirus-free.
The authority listed the countries in a press statement as the Philippines, India, Bangladesh, Egypt, Syria, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Sri Lanka, Georgia and Lebanon.
Passengers who do not provide the certificates will be denied access to Kuwait, the aviation authority warned.
Coronaviruses (CoV) form a large family of viruses that can cause mild colds to severe pneumonia in humans. Other coronaviruses can cause a variety of infectious diseases in animals. Coronaviruses are transmitted between animals and humans.
Coronaviruses include the MERS coronavirus (MERS-CoV), which first appeared in humans in 2012, and the SARS coronavirus (SARS-CoV), first detected in 2003.
In 2020, a novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) was identified in China that has never been detected in humans before. (end) aam.ht.mt