A+ A-

Today In Kuwait's History

KUWAIT, April 25 (KUNA) -- 1960 -- Kuwait joined the International Civil Aviation Organization.
1960 -- Kuwait poet Rashed Buresli passed away at the age of 42.
1961 -- The Department of Electricity and Water announced the discovery of pure water in the Rawdhtain area, estimated to span an area of 50 square kilometers.
1976 -- An Amiri decree was issued for the establishment of the Kuwaiti Melamine Industries Company, with a capital of approximately KD four million.
1976 -- The Amir Sheikh Sabah Alآ­Salem Alآ­Sabah issued law 20/1976 against commercial fraud.
1982 -- Law 32/1982 on the establishment of a civil information system, which includes complete data on all Kuwaitis and nonآ­Kuwaitis in the country, was passed.
1987 -- Kuwaiti Karate Federation established.
1995 -- The National Assembly unanimously approved a draft proposal to amend the Narcotics Law by imposing capital punishment on drug traffickers.
2001 -- National Assembly passed KD 50 salary increase, a KD 20 increase every three years for retirees, and amended regulations on women's retirement.
2005 -- Minister of Communications and Minister of Planning and Minister of State for Administrative Development Sheikh Ahmad Alآ­Abdullah Alآ­Sabah inaugurated the first conference on eآ­crime.
2007 -- His Highness the Premier Sheikh Nasser Alآ­Mohammad Alآ­Sabah inaugurated the Khalid Saleh Alآ­Ghunaim Medical Center in Alآ­Qadsiya.
2007 -- Kuwait Radio won two golden awards in the Gulf Radio and TV Festival held in Bahrain.
2009 -- Qadsiya Club crowned champion of first class soccer clubs tourney after a tie in a final match against Kuwait Club.
2010 -- Kuwait Automobile Club organized the Sheikh Jaber Alآ­Ahmad championship for motorcycles with the participation of 40 riders from Arab and foreign countries.
2015 -- Kuwait came in first place at the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) Challenge Cup of Asia, Division I, which was held in Kuwait City. The tournament saw the participation of Singapore, Kyrgyzstan, Oman, India, and Malaysia. (end).